Preparing for your real life entry into the world of Public Relations Part 2

Hello again to everyone that has read my blog! Sorry for the slight delay in my posts but boy, has it been busy over here at Freestyle (and what a great reason for the delay)! We continue to evolve and provide excellent results for our wide array of clients.

Now where did I leave it…oh yes, I wrote about how to prepare for full time employment in the public relations field and how important writing skills are in this line of work. I want to continue on the path of providing valuable skills every PR pro should have in order to survive. One skill that is continuing to make its mark upon the public relations industry and PR professionals alike is having a strong sense of curiosity.

Cu·ri·os·i·ty [kyoor-ee-os-i-tee] noun. The desire to learn or know about anything; inquisitiveness. In the public relations business the only thing you can count on reliably is that there is a constant state of change. Armed with a strong sense of curiosity, you will be driven to want to learn more, uncover new insights, offer fresh ideas, ask questions and think about how to be more productive in our field in new and exciting ways. There have been plenty of circumstances in which I have been asked to write a press release about something that I am not necessarily familiar with and without my curiosity to learn more about that topic I would not be able to do my job effectively. In the public relations industry, information truly is our currency. By that I mean to keep up with your clients and their specific niches you must be curious in finding out additional information about competitors, new trends and daily news to keep yourself informed.  Without this curiosity, you won’t be able to gain the understanding or vision about the business you’re researching that will allow you to not only keep up, but to provide fresh and innovative ways to help your clients shine!

I’m hopeful you find my observations helpful and please feel free to contact me with any questions you might have. I am excited to continue providing you tips and advice based upon my real world public relations experience here at Freestyle PR.

Be on the lookout for my next blog.

Cheers!

Michaela Sabin
Account Assistant

About Freestyle PR

Pushing boundaries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

